The Stereo Bus Profile

aka Stereobus
Andrew Schmidt
28 Apr 2013

David Yetton – one of three talented writers in Christchurch’s The Jean-Paul Sartre Experience – climbed aboard The Stereo Bus in 1997, writing and recording two popular albums of shimmering, laconic guitar pop.

Stereo Bus (Beats Bodega, 1997) was named Album Of The Year at the first b-Net Awards and The Mutton Birds’ Alan Gregg produced Brand New emerged on EMI Records in 1999. The second album climbed to No.10 on the NZ Album Charts in mid-1999. Neil Finn was named as its executive producer.

Read more +
Be A Girl (Live at ICE TV) Bob Sutton Collection
David Yetton's Blow Out Your Candles
David Yetton
Photo credit: Murray Cammick Collection
David Yetton
David Yetton - Stars Without Makeup
Lie In The Arms (live 1999)
David Yetton at a Christchurch Aids fundraiser, year unsure
Photo credit: Photo by Murray Cammick
David Yetton
Photo credit: Photo by Murray Cammick
Don't Open Your Eyes
David Yetton - Honey Don't Go
Fade (Live at ICE TV) Bob Sutton Collection

Beats Bodega



The name is alternately The Stereobus and The Stereo Bus, seemingly at whim.


Mark Beaton - bass

Nick Buckton - bass

Ross Burge - drums

Jason Fa'afoi - guitar

Mike Franklin Browne - drums

Alan Gregg - bass, keyboards

Mike Hall - bass

Francis Hunt - guitar

Matthias Jordan - keyboards

Bobby Kennedy - drums

David Yetton - guitar, vocals

David Pine - guitar

Gary Sullivan - drums