Die! Die! Die!

Their music is a bit like their name, if you imagine screaming it out in short staccato bursts, like gunfire – Blam! Blam! Blam! – but clean, accurate, full of fire, like a raging homicidal machine.

In 2003, this Dunedin trio picked up on a very specific thread of NZ alt-rock: bands like The Gordons/Bailter Space, HDU and Straitjacket Fits, dried and salted those ingredients, boiling them down to a taut, minimalist attack perfectly suited to just guitar, bass and high-pitched barking vocals.

S.W.I.M (Small Town America, 2014)
Sideways, Here We Come
We Built Our Own Oppressors
Oblivious Oblivion - 95bFM in Session
Harmony (Records Etcetera, 2012)
Promises, Promises (Tardus Music, 2008)
Harmony - 95bFM in Session
People Talk
Die! Die! Die!, March 16, 2009
Photo credit: Christopher Andrews | thebigcity.co.nz
Out of the Blue
Charm. Offensive. (Sounds Of Subterrania, 2017) 

Andrew Wilson - vocals, guitar

Michael Logie - bass

Michael Prain - drums

Henry Oliver - bass

Kane Goulter - bass

Lachlan Anderson - bass


The trio has had ongoing problems holding on to bassists. Original bassist Kane Goulter left after the first two tours, and Henry Oliver was with the band for two EPs and their first album, leaving in 2006. Lachlan Anderson was in the fray from 2006 to 2011, contributing to three albums. Michael Logie – formerly of the Mint Chicks, and also of F In Math and Opossom – joined as bassist for their 2012 tour. And stayed on. But to complicate the story, Rory Attwell filled in on bass during the group’s 2012 European tour, because Michael was too busy.

Former bassist Henry Oliver went on to be the music editor of The Spinoff, and then editor of Metro magazine.


Flying Nun

Capital Recordings

Too Pure

Golden Antenna Recordings

Funded by

Partners with