aka DW Browne, Derek W Browne, Derek Browne, D W Browne Band, Marmite Blister

Derek Browne was the lead singer and founder of dDub, a band which toured New Zealand extensively for 15 years and played over 56 gigs in one year alone. They put out two successful albums, selling over 10,000 copies and performed to audiences ranging from 150 to 25,000 people at festivals such as Womad and Rhythm and Vines.

His early recordings were made in the mid-1990s at a Whanganui furniture warehouse that doubled as a rehearsal space. Augmented with solo recordings made at Palmerston North’s The Stomach they were released on the 1996 cassette album D W Browne. The following year, the CD Enter Me featured a selection of solo performances of original songs.

DDub performing live in Albert Park, Auckland, bFM Summer Series.
Photo credit: Matt Shanks collection
dDub at Fritter Fest, Whangarei, 2017. From left: Neil Cording, Mike Young, Andrew Hall, Derek Browne, Chris Grant (obscured), David Hodkinson, Anthony Hunt.
Photo credit: David Hodkinson collection
dDub - Medicine Man cover art.
dDub - Ju Ju Mama (2006)
D W Browne - Enter Me cover art.
dDub's Medicine Man release poster. 
Photo credit: Matt Shanks collection
dDub's 'Juju Mama' winter tour poster.
Photo credit: Matt Shanks collection
Derek Browne between sets with Marmite Blister, Whanganui mid 1990s.
Photo credit: David Rogerson
dDub - Send It On Back
The Closer You Get, The Bigger I Look - supporting the Dyslexia Foundation of New Zealand. Written by Don McGlashan, produced by Sean Donnelly and performed by dDub.
dDub - Hesitate No (2008)
Derek Browne during dDub's Australian tour.
Photo credit: Matt Shanks collection
dDub - We Are The Ones (2010)
dDub performing in Albert Park, Auckland.
Photo credit: Matt Shanks collection
dDub performing live. Derek Browne at right on vocals and guitar with (left to right) Haydn Godfrey (trombone), Andrew McDowall (trumpet), Ben Campbell (saxophone),
Photo credit: Matt Shanks collection
DW Brown cassette cover, 1996
dDub live in New Zealand
Recording Awake At Dawn.From left: Matt Shanks, Nick Williams, Derek Browne.
dDub - Comfort (2008)
dDub, 2017. From left: Neil Cording, Mike Young, Derek Browne, Andrew Hall, Anthony Hunt, Chris Grant, David Hodkinson.
Photo credit: David Hodkinson collection
Making of 'The Closer You Get, The Bigger I Look' (supporting the Dyslexia Foundation of NZ)
dDub - Making My Way Home (2008)
Derek Browne and Anthony Hunt, dDub, 2017.
Photo credit: David Hodkinson collection
dDub - Give It Some (2007)
dDub - Awake At Dawn CD cover.

Vunderchick Records


Derek Browne - vocals, guitar

David Hodkinson - bass

Chris Grant - drums, vocals

Anthony Hunt - keyboards

Andrew Hall - saxophone, vocals

Neil Cording - trumpet

Mike Young - trombone

Dixon Nacey - guitar

Steve Fulford - guitar, vocals

Matt Shanks - bass, vocals

Tala Ofamooni - drums

Duncan Taylor - trombone

Ben Campbell - saxophone, flute

Tim Atkinson - saxophone

Finn Scholes - trumpet

Jono Tan - trombone

Rota Barrington - drums

Andrew McDowall - trumpet

Andrew Watts - trumpet

Eammon Deverall - saxophone

James Toplis - keyboards, percussion, vocals

Haydn Godfrey - trombone

Funded by

Partners with