Marie & The Atom

Marie & The Atom made music that dealt with moods and rhythms which exist outside the usual space and gait of life.

“Precise harmonious tone poems,” RipItUp writer Jewel Sanyo called it, delivered over a constant (percussive) refrain that took the listener through a landscape of voice, strings and chilled harmony.

Virginia Were, Gill Civil
Gill Civil, Virginia Were

Gill Civil is now a highly successful Canadian based pianist and composer.


Flying Nun

Industrial Tapes

Miss America

Gill Civil - keyboards, vocals

Sara Westwood - viola, violin, keyboards, accordion

Virginia Were - guitar, vocals

Funded by

Partners with